<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>(b)logophile &#187; eMusic</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.logophile.org/blog/tags/emusic/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.logophile.org/blog</link>
	<description>blog of a logophile (not "logos", but "λόγος")</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 09 Sep 2010 20:19:40 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=5416</generator>
		<item>
		<title>Mardi Gras.bb at eMusic</title>
		<link>http://www.logophile.org/blog/2008/07/07/mardi-grasbb-at-emusic/</link>
		<comments>http://www.logophile.org/blog/2008/07/07/mardi-grasbb-at-emusic/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 07 Jul 2008 13:36:08 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>tikitu</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[awesome]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eMusic]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[music]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.logophile.org/blog/?p=398</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[At last! The Mardi Gras.bb have appeared on eMusic. That is, they&#8217;ve shown up on the European site (they&#8217;re German, although you wouldn&#8217;t guess it from listening), with slightly different punctuation and case (I&#8217;m taking the regrettable .bb from their site &#8212; apparently it stands for &#8220;big band&#8221;) but the same glorious sound. The new [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>At last! The <a href="http://www.mardigrasbb.com/">Mardi Gras.bb</a> have appeared on <a href="http://www.emusic.com/">eMusic</a>.</p>

<p>That is, they&#8217;ve shown up on the European site (they&#8217;re German, although you wouldn&#8217;t guess it from listening), with <a href="http://www.emusic.com/artist/Mardi-Gras-Bb-MP3-Download/11834753.html">slightly different punctuation and case</a> (I&#8217;m taking the regrettable .bb from their site &#8212; apparently it stands for &#8220;big band&#8221;) but the same glorious sound. The new album, <em>The Exile Itch</em>, isn&#8217;t there, but three older albums are (<em>Alligator Soup</em>, <em>29 Moonglow</em> and <em>Introducing the Mighty Three</em>).</p>

<p>I&#8217;m an eMu member since before they raised prices, and I&#8217;m not sure I&#8217;d pay what they&#8217;re asking now. But if you&#8217;re already a member, rock on over and check these guys out. There used to be plenty of free downloads on their site, but they seem to have vanished (apart from four tracks from the new album). Grrr! If you can find &#8216;em, I recommend &#8220;Down Down Down&#8221; and &#8220;Dark Days&#8221; as an introduction to their sound. Bet you can&#8217;t keep still listening&#8230;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.logophile.org/blog/2008/07/07/mardi-grasbb-at-emusic/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Phishing eMusic customers?</title>
		<link>http://www.logophile.org/blog/2008/04/17/phishing-emusic-customers/</link>
		<comments>http://www.logophile.org/blog/2008/04/17/phishing-emusic-customers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 17 Apr 2008 11:27:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>tikitu</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eMusic]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[phishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[security]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.logophile.org/blog/?p=372</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I got an out-of-the-ordinary eMusic newsletter this month. It looks perfectly professional (although slightly different to the usual ones), but it&#8217;s from an address at emusic.chtah.com (the usual newsletters come from edmailbox.emusic.com). I&#8217;m quite sure the company eMusic owns the domain emusic.com, but anyone at all could register chtah.com and add a subdomain called emusic. [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I got an out-of-the-ordinary eMusic newsletter this month. It looks perfectly professional (although slightly different to the usual ones), but it&#8217;s from an address at <code>emusic.chtah.com</code> (the usual newsletters come from <code>edmailbox.emusic.com</code>).</p>

<p>I&#8217;m quite sure the company eMusic owns the domain <code>emusic.com</code>, but anyone at all could register <code>chtah.com</code> and add a subdomain called <code>emusic</code>. If this is really the new eMu mailing system then they should be slapped about for encouraging their users to ignore all reasonable security precautions.</p>

<p>(How did I notice? I <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitelist">whitelist</a>: any mail from an address I haven&#8217;t previously confirmed goes into a separate folder and gets looked at suspiciously. Double-suspiciously when it purports to come from somebody I know I have already whitelisted.)</p>

<p>If it&#8217;s not them, though, then I&#8217;m worried. Because the mail looks perfectly legitimate, properly punctuated and in fact it&#8217;s an html email in pretty good eMu style. That&#8217;s professional work. It addresses me by the name eMu knows me by, which could be a lucky guess but at least means it&#8217;s either personalised by hand or run off a smarter database than just crawling my homepage and scraping names-and-addresses.</p>

<p>I&#8217;ve sent a mail to the eMu folk, but their &#8220;Contact Me&#8221; form doesn&#8217;t fill me with confidence. In the meantime, if anyone knows more about the issue I&#8217;d be glad to hear it.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.logophile.org/blog/2008/04/17/phishing-emusic-customers/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>6</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
